Big 12 welcomes BYU, UCF, Cincinnati and Houston

(AP)- The Big 12 approved membership applications from BYU, UCF, Cincinnati and Houston. The league has moved quickly after learning it will lose Oklahoma and Texas to the Southeastern Conference no later than 2025. BYU says all of its sports will begin Big 12 schedules in the 2023-24 athletic season. The other three schools compete in the American Athletic Conference. That league requires 27 months’ notice for schools that want to leave. That means they will join the Big  12 no later than July 1, 2024.

Photo Gallery