Illinois to Enforce New Law for Distracted Driving

Throughout the last ten years the state of Illinois took different steps to attempt to combat different forms of distracted driving. Back in 2010 the state passed a law to forbid texting and driving. Four years later the law was broadened to include phones without hands-free devices. Starting on Wednesday, a new law will forbid all motorists from watching video streams on all mobile devices while they are driving on the road. The first time anyone is caught the first time they will be charged $75. There will be a $25 increase for each offense after that. If any motorist causes a crash those results in an someone else’s body or kills someone else the offense will result in a felony.

Photo Gallery