McCaskill, Smith to donate salary made during shutdown

Senator Claire McCaskill says she will donate her salary acquired during the government shutdown.

McCaskill made the announcement says after she introduced legislation to withhold members of Congress during shutdown. The bill, co-sponsored by Heidi Heitkamp of North Dakota, Jon Tester of Montana, Debbie Stabenow of Michigan and Joe Manchin of West Virginia, is called the No Government No pay Act of 2018 and would take effect during the 116th congress and would apply to all congresses after. The bill is in accordance with the 27th Amendment which states Congress cannot raise or lower their salaries.

House of Representatives member Jason Smith of Missouri also said he’d donate his salary during the shutdown.

Photo Gallery