Extension of MO term limits proposed

State representative Donna Lichtenegger is proposing legislation that would increase the maximum number of years elected legislators can remain in their positions. The state of Missouri currently allows eight years of service in the House and the Senate. Four two-year terms are allowed in the House and two four-year terms are allowed in the Senate. Under new legislation, state representatives would be allowed to serve three four year terms and senators could serve two six-year terms increasing the maximum number of years of service to 12 years. Voters input will be needed to approve the legislation and no changes would occur until 2020.

Photo Gallery